

#### SAMPLE BALLOT

United Neighbors of the 35th Ward is an independent political organization dedicated to amplifying and representing the voice of families and residents of the communities in the ward. We act as a counterweight to entrenched political and business interests that for too long have operated without concern for the needs of the majority of Chicagoans. Part of our mission is to elect progressives into our local government and hold them accountable to the people they represent.

Voting is only the Beginning: We work year round to build power within our communities and hold our elected leaders to account. We need people like you to get involved! Sign up at un35.org

\*ENDORSED candidates appeared before UN35 members who voted to endorse and actively support the candidate based on shared values and commitment to build long term political power. RECOMMENDED candidates did not appear before UN35 members, but are considered by the UN35 Advisory Board to be the most suitable for the role. All races are listed on the sample ballot. We listed endorsements or recommendations in races where we felt there was a candidate that matched our values or was clearly the most qualified. In some races there are more and we would support or recommend them all.

#### Governor

J.B. Pritzker/Juliana Stratton Chris Kennedy/Ra Joy Daniel Biss/Leticia E. Wallace Bob Dalber/Jonathan W. Todd Tio Hardiman/Patricia Avery

Robert Marshall/Dennis Cole

#### **Attorney General**

Pat Quinn Renato Mariotti Scott Drury Nancy Rotering Kwame Raoul Jesse Ruiz Sharon Fairley **Aaron Goldstein** 

#### Secretary of State

Jesse White

#### Comptroller

Susana A. Mendoza

### **Treasurer**

Michael W. Frerichs

### U.S. Representative, 4th District

Richard Gonzalez Sol A. Flores Jesus "Chuy" Garcia

## U.S. Representative, 5th District

Benjamin Thomas Wolf Mike Quigley Sameena Mustafa Steven J Schwartzberg

#### State Central Committeewoman, 4th **District**

Iris Y. Martinez

#### State Central Committeeman, 4th **District**

Jesus "Chuy" Garcia

### State Senator, 2nd District

Omar V. Aquino

#### State Senator, 20th District

Iris Y. Martinez Bart Goldberg

#### State Representative, 4th District

Anne Shaw **Delia Ramirez** Alyx Pattison Iris Milan

#### State Representative, 39th District Will Guzzardi \*ENDORSED

State Representative, 40th District Jaime Andrade

### Metropolitan Water Reclamation District, 6-year term (vote for no more

than 3) Marcelino Garcia **Debra Shore** Karl K. Steele Martin J. Durkan Write-in (up to 3)

#### Metropolitan Water Reclamation District, unexpired 2-year term Kimberly Neely Dubluclet

Metropolitan Water Reclamation District, unexpired 2-year term (Bradford vacancy) No candidate

Cam Davis (WRITE IN)

#### **President of County Board**

Toni Preckwinkle Bob Fioretti

### **County Clerk**

Karen A. Yarbrough

#### **UN35.ORG**

#### **County Sheriff**

Thomas J. Dart

#### **County Treasurer**

Peter Gariepy Maria Pappas

#### **County Assessor**

Joseph Berrios Frederick "Fritz" Kaegi

### County Commissioner, 8th District

Luis Arroyo Jr.

### **Board of Review, 2nd District**

Michael Cabonargi

## Judge of the Circuit Court (Brewer

vacancy)
Oran F. Whiting

Kathryn Maloney Vahey

John Maher

## Judge of the Circuit Court (Clay

vacancy)

Kathleen Theresa Lanahan Jonathan Clark Green Michael I. O'Malley Lori Ann Roper

·

# Judge of the Circuit Court (Dooling vacancy)

Tom Sam Sianis Timothy John Leeming

Corri Diane Fetman

# Judge of the Circuit Court (Egan vacancy)

Rosa Maria Silva

## Judge of the Circuit Court (Dunford

vacancy)

Thomas F. McGuire

# Judge of the Circuit Court (Flanagan vacancy)

Amanda Moira Pillsbury Preston Jones Jr. Keely Patricia Hillison Ioana Salajanu

Judge of the Circuit Court (Hartigan vacancy)

Cecilia Anne Horan Keith L. Spence

# Judge of the Circuit Court (Jordan vacancy)

Clare Joyce Quish Jerry Barrido

Patrick Dankwa John

## <u>Judge of the Circuit Court (McGinnis vacancy)</u>

Brian Terrence Sexton
Peter Michael Gonzalez
Bradley R. Trowbridge

# Judge of the Circuit Court (Prendergast Rooney vacancy)

Jack Hagerty Mable Taylor

# Judge, 6th Subcircuit (Chevere vacancy)

David C. Herrera **Kent Delgado** Sean Patrick Kelly

# Judge, 6th Subcircuit (Cooke vacancy)

Edward J. Underhill

Charles "Charlie" Beach \*ENDORSED
Andrea Michelle Webber

Judge, 6th Subcircuit (Lopez Cepero vacancy)

Linda Perez

Stephanie K. Miller \*ENDORSED

### Public questions:

"Shall the State of Illinois legalize the cultivation, manufacture, distribution, testing and sale of marijuana and marijuana products for recreational use by adults 21 and older subject to state regulation, taxation and local ordinance?"

Yes

"Should Governor Rauner act to protect the 650,000 Illinois residents who obtained health insurance through the Affordable Care Act by supporting legislation amending the Illinois Insurance Code to preserve important benefits like pediatric services and maternity care, and by investing in outreach programs to encourage residents to sign up for health insurance?"

Yes

"Should Governor Rauner support Illinois legislation to ban firearm bump stocks and strengthen penalties on illegal gun traffickers?"

Yes

"Should the State of Illinois develop a comprehensive strategy to address the recent rise in opioid-related and heroin-related deaths including committing additional state resources for addiction treatment and requiring health insurers to cover opioid alternatives and limitations on prescription length?"

Yes